Tag: chick lit

Blonde Ambition: The Law of Attraction by Roxie Cooper

Posted July 10, 2017 by Hannah in Adult, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blonde Ambition: The Law of Attraction by Roxie CooperThe Law of Attraction by Roxie Cooper
Published by HQ Digital, HarperCollins UK on 23rd June 2017
Format: E-ARC, E-Book
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Amazon UKBarnes & Noble
Goodreads

Amanda Bentley has always dreamed of being a barrister…

But as a platinum blonde bombshell from the wrong side of town, with a perfect tan and sleek high heels she doesn’t exactly look the part – or fit in with the brash public school boys and cold posh girls of Newcastle Crown Court’s robing room. Amanda’s never been one to back down from a challenge, and so when she gets a prestigious pupillage following law school she’s determined to make the most of her chance – and make her childhood dreams come true.

Only three things stand in her way: Sid Ryder – the sexy, irresistible barrister who she absolutely can not, under any circumstances sleep with. At all. Marty Gregg – her smarmy law school nemesis who she's in competition with for the top job. And her big, dark secret that could jeopardise everything she's worked so hard for.

Perfects for fans of Legally Blonde, Lindsey Kelk and Joanna Bolouri don't miss this hilarious new ebook!

 

This book guys.

Sometimes in life, all you need is a book that will make you laugh, giggle and swoon. And Law of Attraction is all that, and then a whole lot more sprinkled on top. To say that I loved it would be an understatement – it’s definitely my favourite chick lit this year, and it came at a perfect time in my life when the mean reds were getting a bit too much and I just needed some good old fashioned cheering up in the form of a book.

Law of Attraction is about our feisty heroine Amanda Bentley as she fights her way through pupillage at one of Newcastle’s most prestigious law chambers…a far cry from the housing estate she grew up in. She’s a typical Northern girl – think Cheryl Cole or Charlotte Crosby – and it’s clear from the get go that her blonde highlights do not belong in Anthena Chambers, but that won’t stop Amanda from pursing something that’s been her dream for so long. Of course, life isn’t fair, and only one of the two candidates will get a job at the end of the year. And as Amanda quickly learns, it’s not just about being great at what you do, if her arch nemesis is anything to go by.

Amanda was a wonderful character, and it’s not hard to fall in love with her bright, bubbly personality. She’s faced a lot of judgement in her time, and her resilience and determination are rare attributes that make her such a strong person. I mean, look. At first glance, sure. She looks like someone who’s just stepped out of a meeting with Pod from Snog, Marry, Avoid and has been told, “Goodbye!” when she won’t give up the beehive or the fake tan. But underneath all that is a real person, and someone who is smart, gracious and kind as well. She made mistakes, but she learnt from them as well. Halfway through the book my heart was bleeding for her – even when things got so tough, she never truly gave up.

The secondary characters also added charm to the story. Marty, Amanda’s nemesis was the kind of smarmy prick you wanted to punch in the face. He was an absolute tosspot, so you’ll be glad to know that (without spoiling anything) this is a HEA, and I’ll leave it at that. Amanda’s best friend Heidi was a laugh, and I loved the two of them together, though there is an element to the story that might not sit well with some people. Amanda’s mentor, Richard Skylar was adorable in that old fashioned way, and of course there’s Sid. Gorgeously attractive, handsome and sexy smart barrister Sid Ryder who stole my heart as much as he did Amanda’s. I loved that there was less of a focus on the romance too, which made the whole story more well-rounded because Amanda wasn’t focused on one guy, but more rather a bigger picture.

It was also extremely refreshing to read a book that wasn’t set in London for once. I adore London as much as the next girl, but it’s not the only city in the UK, and Newcastle is a gorgeous city. More stories in different settings please!

Overall, what you get is one hilariously charming read that will sweep you off your feet. Legally Blonde eat your heart out! Roxie Cooper has stolen my bookish heart, and judging by her fantastic debut, I can’t wait to read more. Now who do I have butter up to get a paperback copy of this delightful gem?!

Tags: , , ,