Tag: debut

Cover Reveal: The Queen’s Rising by Rebecca Ross

Posted June 24, 2017 by Hannah in Blog Tours / 1 Comment

Image result for excited gif

YOU GUYS, I’M SO EXCITED!!

Today, in conjunction with Inkslinger PR and HarperTeen, I’m taking part in the cover reveal for Rebecca Ross’s debut novel, THE QUEEN’S RISING, which is one of my most anticipated debut’s for 2018. So to say I’m excited is probably just a little bit underwhelming – I’m literally over the moon! There are so many amazing YA Fantasy reads coming out in 2018, and I’m sure that this one is going to be in the same category!

With gorgeous description and detailed rendering of a world where not everything and everyone are what they seem, Rebecca Ross weaves an intricate tale of revenge, loyalty, and ultimately, self-discovery. Don’t miss the beautiful cover for Rebecca Ross’s debut young adult fantasy, THE QUEEN’S RISING, and pre-order your copy today!

Okay, so without further ado, drum roll please….

Image result for excited gif

Enough teasing! Here it is – QUEEN’S RISING!

A post shared by Hannah (@hannahplusbooks) on

Inline image 2

 

When her seventeenth summer solstice arrives, Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron.

Growing up in the southern Kingdom of Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her for such a life. While some are born with an innate talent for one of the five passions—art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge—Brienna struggled to find hers until she belatedly chose to study knowledge. However, despite all her preparations, Brienna’s greatest fear comes true—the solstice does not go according to plan and she is left without a patron.

Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, and with no other choices, she accepts. But there is much more to his story, and Brienna soon discovers that he has sought her out for his own vengeful gain. For there is a dangerous plot being planned to overthrow the king of Maevana—the archrival kingdom of Valenia—and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the northern throne. And others are involved—some closer to Brienna than she realizes.

With war brewing between the two lands, Brienna must choose whose side she will remain loyal to—passion or blood. Because a queen is destined to rise and lead the battle to reclaim the crown. The ultimate decision Brienna must determine is: Who will be that queen?

Add it to your Goodreads Now!

THE QUEEN’S RISING Pre-Order Links: Amazon | Kobo | Barnes and Noble | HarperCollins 

At this stage, I’m not sure about international publishers, but I’ll be sure to keep you updated as I hear more news for my fellow Aussie and INTL readers where to grab this amazingly gorgeous title from!

Inline image 1

Rebecca Ross received her Bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Georgia. In the past, she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian, and as a live-time captionist for a college. She resides in Northeast Georgia with her husband and her dog. THE QUEEN’S RISING is her debut novel. Visit her on the web at www.rebeccarossauthor.com or on Twitter @_RebeccaRoss.

WEBSITE | GOODREADS | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST

Inline image 3

 

Displaying InkSlinger PR blogger banner.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Fire & Ice Rarely Play Nice: Frostblood by Elly Blake

Posted January 2, 2017 by Hannah in Reviews, Young Adult / 0 Comments

Fire & Ice Rarely Play Nice: Frostblood by Elly BlakeFrostblood Series: Frostblood Saga #1
by Elly Blake
Published by Hodder & Staughton, Hachette Australia on 10th January 2017
Pages: 304
Format: E-Book, E-ARC
Source: Publisher, Netgalley, Won
BoffinsDymocksBooktopia
Goodreads

The first in a page-turning young adult fantasy series perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series.

In a land governed by the cruel Frostblood ruling class, seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has spent most of her life hiding her ability to manipulate heat and light - until the day the soldiers come to raid her village and kill her mother. Ruby vows revenge on the tyrannous Frost King responsible for the massacre of her people.

But Ruby's powers are unpredictable...and so are the feelings she has for Arcus, the scarred, mysterious Frostblood warrior who shares her goal to kill the Frost King, albeit for his own reasons. When Ruby is captured by the Frost King's men, she's taken right into the heart of the enemy. Now she only has one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who took everything from her - and in doing so, she must unleash the powers she's spent her whole life withholding.

Frostblood is set in world where flame and ice are mortal enemies - but together create a power that could change everything.

Frostblood is the first fantasy release of 2017 that I’ve read, and boy oh boy, does it set the bar high for the rest of 2017’s fantasy releases. If this is the calibre of books coming out, then please, by all means, hit me with them.

Ruby is our heroine, a girl with fire running through her veins who watches her mother die at the hands of the ruling Frostbloods and imprisoned. Years later, she is rescued by an order of monks, who wish for her to help them depose of the Frost Throne and in turn, the ruthless King. When Ruby is captured by the Frost King’s men and forced to fight for her life, what she must overcome in order to survive will be her greatest test.

There is so much to love about this book. The two opposing sides, Frostbloods and Firebloods, have a tumultuous history that Blake is able to weave into the story without info dumping like a boring world history lesson. Instead, what we do learn about Sudesia and Tempesia and the world Ruby lives in is given to us in little pockets, making you wish for more. In fact, if it’s the only thing I didn’t like so much was that I wanted to know more about the history of the world and the Gods and how the Frost & Fire Bloods became to be, but that’s probably just me being greedy.

I loved Ruby as a character too, which is interesting because at first, she bothered me a lot in that at time, she was quite whiny and petulant. But all characters must grow, and so does Ruby, and I loved that she wasn’t a stereotypical “Chosen One” character and in fact at times pushed against the notion of her abilities and strengths. Watching her come to terms with who she was and what she could do was great, and I loved that her vulnerability shone through at times as well. She wasn’t perfect, and we need more YA heroines like her because let’s face it, none of us are.

And I’d be remiss to leave out the romance too, because of course who doesn’t love a mysterious brooding interest? Arcus was great, albeit a little predictable in his character arc, and the banter between him and Ruby as their relationship grew is the sort of romance that fuels me, and once again I’ve lost myself to a fictional character. Arcus made me want to weep in parts with what he’s been through, and to see him grow and learn through Ruby (and vice versa) was just great. They may say that “affairs between fire and frost rarely end well”, but they’ve clearly never met Arcus and Ruby, have they?

For fans of Red Queen and Throne of GlassFrostblood will dazzle you with fiery passion and fast paced adventure that will leave you burning for more at every page (see what I did there?!). It’s safe to say that its sequel will be just as explosive, and I can’t wait to find out what happens next.

Tags: , , ,

All The Books I Need in 2017: The Fantasy Edition

Posted December 13, 2016 by Hannah in uncategorized / 4 Comments

This was originally going to be a Top Ten Tuesday post (as some of you may have noticed, I also kinda forgot about it & it posted…), but then I realised that there were WAY too many books I want need in 2017, so I thought over the next coming weeks I would showcase the books I’m looking forward to next year by “genre”: Fantasy, SciFi, Contemporary, Historical, Diversity and Adult. I say genre loosely, because Adult fiction of course is more like a category, and Diversity shouldn’t be a genre because it should just be a goddamn normal thing, but let’s not get too carried away.

Let’s talk about Fantasy. FANTASY. Thank you, Throne of Glass, for making this my most favourite thing ever. The last couple of years have seen me dive headfirst into YA fantasy, and I love discovering new and old reads, so if you have any recommendations, please send them ALL my way. And 2017 is shaping up to be an amazing year of YA Fantasy. Let’s just not talk about the fact that I cannot deal with the ToG series finishing in 2017, my heart is too broken still. So without further ado, here are the fantasy books in that I need like, right now.

I’m pretty sure 2017 is going to be an epic year, because look at all these beauties! What I love about fantasy so much is that there’s such variety – from retellings to pirates to carnivals to mythical lands, my heart is going to explode all over the place.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber // Long May She Reign by Rhiannon Thomas  

Toward a Secret Sky by Heather Maclean

Daughter of The Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller // Poison’s Kiss by Breanna Shields 

Hunted by Meagan Spooner 

 

 

The Beast Is An Animal by Peternelle van Arsdale //Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer

 Dark Breaks the Dawn by Sara B Larson

Let’s not forget about the books we don’t have covers for yet! I’m so excited for some of these books! I’m sure the covers for them will be just as gorgeous as the books sound as well! There’s going to be royals and dragons and (more!) pirates and dastardly families! And let’s not forget Rhysand, my body is ready.

Beast: A Tale of Love and Revenge by Lisa Jensen //  // The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King // The Glass Spare by Lauren DeStefano // Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows //  Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts // Untitled (Stream Riders #1) by Sara Raasch // A Court of War & Ruin by Sarah J Maas

2017 also means catching up on great books that were released this year that I never got round to! I’m so lucky to have all put one of these on my Edelweiss list, so there’s definitely going to be a lot of binging coming up over the next couple of months while on uni break.

 

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye// The Shadow Queen by C.J Redwine

 Burning Glass by Kathyrn Purdie

Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers // Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan // 

 A Shadow Bright & Burning by Jessica Cluess

Are any of these books on your TBRs for 2017? What fantasy books are you looking forward to the most? Let me know in the comments if you have any suggestions, and look out next Saturday for my Contemporary Edition of All The Books I Need in 2017!

 

Tags: , , ,